Park City History
Park City was incorporated in 1884. In its mining heyday, more than $400 million in silver was extracted from the mountains that surround the town, creating 23 millionaires, including George Hearst, father of newspaper publisher William Randolph Hearst.
Today, Park City is a unique blend of the old and new. Sixty-four of Park City's buildings are listed on the National Register of Historic Places, many of which are located along the town's Main Street. More than 1,200 miles of tunnels wind through the surrounding mountains, and old mine structures have been resurrected as artist-in-residency spaces, museums and restaurants.
Long before Park City became a world-class mountain resort and venue for the 2002 Winter Olympic Games, it was famous as a silver-mining town and boasts a lively and colorful past. Founded by prospectors in the late 1860s, Park City continued to mine silver until the early 1970s. The mining company, Park City Consolidated Mines, started the ski business in 1963 when they erected the first lifts on what was then called Treasure Mountain. The Park City area now has three world-class resorts: Park City Mountain Resort, Deer Valley® Resort and Canyons Resort.